Big Ten Standings 2021 Basketball: Teams and Results

2021 Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament took place from 10th March to 14th March 2021. The tournament took place in Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana. All 14 Big Ten schools participated in the tournament.

Seeded by the conference records, the Top 10 teams received the first-round bye which meant they qualified directly for the second round. Meanwhile, the Top 4 teams received double-bye, qualifying directly to the third round. Illinois is the highest in standings with 24 winnings overall and Nebraska being the lowest with 7 overall winnings. Also Michigan with 23 overall winnings.

Big Ten Standings 2021 Basketball: Teams

The 14 teams of Big Ten are Indiana, Maryland, Michigan,  Michigan State (6-time winner), Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin.

Big Ten Standings 2021 Basketball: Teams and Results

Big Ten Standings 2021 Basketball: Results

The first round consisted of 2 matches consisting of the 4 remaining teams fighting for positions as 10 teams received the first-round bye. The first match between Minnesota and Northwestern was won by Minnesota. The second match showed the victory of Penn State as Nebraska lost. The second day saw the winnings of Maryland against Michigan State, Minnesota losing the second match of the tournament to Ohio state. Indiana losing by 11 points against Rutgers and Wisconsin winning with just 1 point difference against Penn State.

Quarterfinals took place the next day seeing a huge difference in score points with Maryland losing with 66 against Michigan’s 79. The second session showed the victory of Ohio with 9 more points against Purdue. Also the crushing defeat of Rutgers with 68 against Illinois scoring 90. Iowa moved to the semifinals with a score of 62 against Wisconsin score 57.

See also  Jeopardy Producers are Looking for the Next Alex Trebek, Hunt for the New Host Continues.

The semifinals showed the qualification of Ohio State and Illinois with 68 and 82 scores respectively. While Michigan lost to Ohio due to a single point. At the same time, Illinois keeping the streak of scoring many points against the opposing team that Iowa lost with scoring 71  with Illinois acquiring 82.

The last day resulted in Illinois winning the tournament against the Ohio state by 3 points. Illinois captured the title for the 3rd time in the history of Big Ten. Their score is 91 by Illinois and 88 by Ohio State. In addition, Ayo Dosunmu of the Illinois team won the honor of the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament’s most outstanding player.

Stay With Stanford Arts Review for Latest Updates

Leave a Reply